Get In The Mood (board)

“Words fail miserably when trying to translate design concepts.” This quote really resonated with me as a designer. So many times have I gone to the drawing board with only ideas and notes that a client has given me and turned around a product that they weren’t envisioning. After a few of these instances I have began coming up with variations of a mood board. This article gave me some new ideas any ways to better my mood boards and hopefully make client interaction smoother and more efficient.

The first idea that stuck out to me was creating a template to work from and then creating a few variations of that template. I liked how the author picked words to describe each of his three mood boards before even starting. Dark, glossy, slick, modern, edgy, hard, and aggressive to name a few. He said that he uses words like these to get each of the three mood boards started. This is something that I really want to start implementing from the start of a project. I have typically started out with fonts and color choices within Illustrator but I think before even going digital, writing down buzzwords would help the overall scope of the project. He talks about the benefits being smoother client interaction and faster mock up production, both things that help kick start the project and aid in the design process.

This would be an extremely vital tool when it comes to site building. Not only would the visual aesthetic of the site be clear, but a mood board would also make for a much clearer site goal. This is something that could tie in very well with the site user personas and would be beneficial if done at the same time. Gearing the mood of your site towards the audience is the ultimate goal and the mood board helps create a very distinct vision to begin setting up a site.

Though the article did touch on it in great deal, the style of photographs is especially important to decide up from when it comes to a website. Typically, part of the brand guide, the photos really add a personal touch to the site. More often then not the photographer needs to be gathering shots while the site is being coded. By establishing what shots are needed the designer can cater the site towards that image. At least for me, it is very helpful to have the photographs that I want to use present while I’m setting up a site’s layout. This allows me to hold the actual place of where the image should go while simultaneously showing me what the final product will look like.

 

The article can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

